Not On Assignment

A journo's jottings under no deadline pressure (since Jan 1, 2010)

Tradition v/s modernity

leave a comment »

There’s a family friend, Sameera Khan, who goes through a quaint ritual every summer she visits her folks back home in Moradabad, Uttar Pradesh. As soon as her long-distance train crosses the outskirts of Bombay, she wears a burqa over her Punjabi salwar-kameez. “My folks would be scandalised if they saw me not covered from head to toe in black,” she explains. On the return journey, the Bandra resident does a reverse switch – discarding the burqa and suit underneath for her fave pair of jeans and tee-shirt.
Then there’s good friend Rekha Sherigar who follows a similar practice when visiting her mom in Mangalore. Only this time, it’s a mangalsutra that makes a guest appearance!
Unlike Sameera, who wears the burqa for religious reasons, Rekha has a somewhat long-winding and explanation to offer
“I guess I don’t wear it in Bombay for no reason…or a variety of reasons… Sometimes I don’t wear it because I don’t feel like (wearing it). Sometimes because people comment on how I look too young to be married. Sometimes because it’s just something irritating around your neck in the hot summer; it’s really cumbersome. But I always wear it when I go home otherwise my mom will shout at me. She feels that it somehow reflects on her if I don’t wear it… oh, it’s very complicated…”

Written by Raju Bist

February 13, 2010 at 11:11 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Tagged with ,

Leave a Reply

