Not On Assignment

A journo's jottings under no deadline pressure (since Jan 1, 2010)

Tata to Bata

with 3 comments

A very popular ad line from the good ‘ol days went something like this: Dawood ke jootey ghis to sakte hain, phat nahin sakte.
But I have always been a Bata fan.
The habit was inculcated in my school days, perhaps by Dad. Later on, when I had begun to fathom out things for myself, I liked the shoe-maker’s sturdy products, no-nonsense designs and easy availability at their exclusive showrooms all over my city.
But of late, I noticed that Bata was slipping on its main USP – sturdiness.
A pair of keds started showing cracks in their insoles barely six months after I had bought them.
A pair of ‘all season’ shoes have started peeling off from the outside after their first monsoon.
So, with a very heavy heart, I decided to switch loyalty and last week bought from Korum Mall my first pair of non-Bata shoes.
Hence, it’s goodbye Bata, hello Metro!

Written by Raju Bist

April 10, 2010 at 8:15 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Tagged with , , , ,

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Qualirty of metro shoes in no better… 2 pairs in 3 months … shows they don’t do a good job now

    delhizen

    April 28, 2010 at 5:05 pm

    • You are right. I have been unable to “break into” the shoes after all these weeks. Maybe my next stop will be Woodland… 🙂

      Raju Bist

      May 1, 2010 at 10:29 am

  2. horribly expensive…! btw thanks for adding my blog in your rolls

    delhizen

    May 1, 2010 at 11:31 am


Leave a Reply

