Not On Assignment

A journo's jottings under no deadline pressure (since Jan 1, 2010)

NOA salutes – 2

leave a comment »

His teacher father was killed by militants because he refused to give them shelter. His mother then shifted the family – two sons and a daughter – from a remote village in Kashmir’s Kupwara district to Srinagar. On 6 May 2010, Dr Faisal Shah became the first Kashmiri to top the IAS. He cleared it in his first attempt.
“I miss my father the most today,” said the achiever. “He used to dote on me and taught me English and Maths when I was in school.
”Faisal has made every Kashmiri proud with his hard work and dedication,” said his mother Mubeena Begum, also a teacher. “After my husband’s killing I was a broken woman but I never gave up. I fought against all odds to bring up my children.”
NOA salutes both mother and son
Reworked from: The Times of India
(Disclaimer: NOA has highlighted the above report based on information available in the public domain but is not responsible for the veracity of the same)

Written by Raju Bist

May 8, 2010 at 8:49 pm

Posted in NOA Salutes

Tagged with ,

Leave a Reply

