Not On Assignment

A journo's jottings under no deadline pressure (since Jan 1, 2010)

Better safe than…

leave a comment »

All those announcements about avoiding and reporting unclaimed and suspicious-looking objects on railway properties seem to be having an effect. Yesterday I boarded a near empty Dombivli local in the late afternoon at Dadar station. There was nobody else in my side of the compartment. I was carrying two bags. I put one of them on the overhead rack and took a window seat.
Some time later two men came and sat next to me. One of them looked all around, spotted the bag on the rack and asked if it was mine. I said “Yes” and smiled at him. He gave back a wry smile.
So this is what we have been reduced to, I said to myself. Always tense, looking over our shoulders all the time, all we potential victims of terror.
But then I had an afterthought: “Better safe than sorry.”

Written by Raju Bist

May 12, 2010 at 11:19 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Tagged with , ,

Leave a Reply

