Not On Assignment

A journo's jottings under no deadline pressure (since Jan 1, 2010)

All eyes on the son

with one comment

If you can trust them to keep their eyes on the road even as they talk non-stop, taxi and autorickshaw drivers can be wonderful sources of interesting stories. Here’s one my autorickshaw driver narrated two evenings ago:
“I am from Allahabad but I don’t mix up with these bhaiya types. I have always brought up my family in the midst of Gujaratis, Punjabis and Marathis.
“I drive 12 hours every day. It’s back-breaking but there’s no other chaara. I have my own family but yet I support my four younger brothers. They all work but don’t save anything. Saaley mujhe nonch dete hain.
“About five years ago, I had a regular passenger – a school teacher whom I dropped home every evening. The fare was Rs 30 per trip but she used to pay me Rs 1,000, sometimes Rs 1,100, at the end of the month. It was good money.
“One evening, as I was driving on a lonely stretch a little before her house, I told her, ‘Teacher, if I ask for something, promise that you will agree to it.’ She must have thought ‘Lagta hain iski neeyat bigad rahi hai‘ for she immediately replied, ‘First tell me, what is it that you want from me.’
“So I told her, ‘My son is in the seventh standard. He needs some guidance. Will you please teach him every evening for an hour? In return, I will not charge you anything for these rides.’ She immediately agreed.
“My son studied under her guidance for four years and topped his school in the 10th standard. He is now doing a computer hardware course in Nagpur.
“I have a distant relative working in xxxxx (names a leading Indian IT company). He has promised to absorb my son as soon as he passes out.
“I am very proud of my son. I am also very happy that he will not have to drive an autorickshaw and break his back for a living.”

Written by Raju Bist

June 27, 2010 at 11:11 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Tagged with ,

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hi Raju,
    A simple act, but so profound in its impact.
    Thanks for sharing.

    abha iyengar

    July 2, 2010 at 9:50 pm


Leave a Reply

