Not On Assignment

A journo's jottings under no deadline pressure (since Jan 1, 2010)

Eavesdropping: In which what matters is the circumference of the eye

leave a comment »

One male friend to another:
“The office party got over and she tagged along with me. She was very drunk.
`Where would you like to go? Would you like me to drop you home?’ I asked her.
`No, let’s catch an auto and drive around for some time,’ she replied.
In the auto I asked her, `It’s very late. Don’t you want to go home?’
She smiled that sweet smile of hers and asked me a question in return: `If you were married and had a 20-year-old daughter and if she came home drunk, how would you feel?’
We sat in silence for some time.
Suddenly she told me, `The auto driver is staring at me in the mirror.’
I didn’t know what to say so I started laughing.
After some time I asked her, `Why did you agree to come with me?’
`Because you are safe.’
`And how did you arrive at that conclusion?’
Her answer stumped me.
`That’s because you have very large eyes.’ “

Written by Raju Bist

July 31, 2011 at 11:11 pm

Posted in Eavesdropping

Leave a Reply

