Not On Assignment

A journo's jottings under no deadline pressure (since Jan 1, 2010)

The smart DIL

leave a comment »

She works as an Executive Assistant in a north Mumbai firm, abhors train travel and often takes her car to office.
PN has been driving since her school days. “I am very comfortable behind the wheel and can drive faster than any Mumbai cabbie,” she claims.
But as she nears her home in central Mumbai every evening, PN slows down, and if she spots her mother-in-law hovering around the main gate to their building, quickly swerves into a nearby lane.
Why?
The unlikely explanation, in PN’s own words:
“In the past, my MIL has often caught me at the gate and said, `Beti, tu aa gayi? Please drop me to the temple, na…’ But on the way, she has made me stop at nearly half a dozen shops, always saying, ‘I will take only a minute.’  So now when I see her I avoid her till she catches an auto and goes off on her own.”
Now here is one smart DIL who has it all worked out…

Written by Raju Bist

May 18, 2012 at 7:59 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

