Not On Assignment

A journo's jottings under no deadline pressure (since Jan 1, 2010)

Kahat Kishoreji: If horses could fly

leave a comment »

A king once asked a convict on death row his last wish.
Jahanpanah, I know a secret that has been passed down through generations in my family. If you allow me, I would like to make your horse fly,” replied the man.
“OK, wish granted,” agreed the king.
“But there is one condition, my lord,” said the convict. “It will take me up to three years to teach your horse to fly.”
The king thought for a moment and then replied, “Fine, I will spare your life if you can teach my horse to fly within three years. But if you fail, I will have you hanged.”
So the man took the horse and reached home.
His anxious family members gathered around and asked him, “Do you really know the secret? What if you are not able to make the horse fly in three years’ time?”
The man replied: “Who knows what will happen in three years? Maybe the king will die, maybe the horse will die, maybe I will die… Right now, all I know is that I am alive. So let me enjoy my freedom.”
Moral of the story: Live in the moment. Forget about the past. Don’t ponder on the future. Just enjoy the present.

Written by Raju Bist

November 15, 2012 at 10:50 am

Posted in Kahat Kishoreji

Leave a Reply

