Not On Assignment

A journo's jottings under no deadline pressure (since Jan 1, 2010)

NOA Salutes: The independent-minded octogenarian

leave a comment »

First-born, just back from a trip abroad, on her chance meeting with a fascinating, 89-year-old Sindhi widow:
“I was waiting for my flight, when I saw this very old woman slowly pushing her airport luggage trolley towards where other passengers were seated. I rushed towards her and asked, `May I help you, aunty?’

Rani aunty 3

​​​​`​N​o, no. I can manage,’ she almost shouted back. `I don’t need any help.’
She sat next to me and immediately said, `I am sorry but I hope you didn’t find me rude. It’s just that I always like to be independent.’
Then, while we waited for our flights, I heard her wonderful, inspiring, life story.
Rani aunty’s parents had migrated from Pakistan to Pune after partition.
She got married and shifted to Kampala, Uganda. `My husband was a sweet guy but very weak. He was very emotional,’ she revealed.
He had a shop which he had built up, bit by bit, over 15 years. He was very attached to the shop. There were riots in Uganda and her husband’s shop was burnt down. `He never recovered from the shock. He died,’ Rani aunty said very matter-of-factly.
Since then, she has been travelling all over the world, all by herself.
`I have a house in the United States since the last 15 years. I have many relatives in South Bombay. One of my sons has settled in Britain, another in New Zealand. They are always fighting among themselves. Each wants me to stay with him for long stretches of time. Then I have friends in many places, friends I made during my travels. Whenever there is a wedding or some other important occasion in their families, they call me over.’
I asked her what life advice she had for me, someone nearly one-third her age.
`Two things.
Be fearless. Take chances. You should not regret anything later. Try out new places. That way, you may end up making new friends.’
Secondly, it is your happiness that ultimately matters. Family, friends, colleagues, all come later. Think of your happiness first.’ “

Written by By Raju Bist

January 17, 2020 at 2:59 pm

Posted in NOA Salutes

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.